Live Like the World is Dying
your guide to leftist/anarchist prepping and revolution
a year ago

S1E14 - Janet and Dave on Herbalism for Preparedness

Episode Notes

The guests provided us with some resources:

Herbal first aid aftercare for those who have experienced police violence: https://drive.google.com/file/d/14nVeF6auCIqQRBh-q3gyEmV5POiYur_Z/view

Seed, Soil and Spirit: an herb school for QTBIPOC and allies with social justice framing: https://www.seedsoilspirit.com

Rootwork Herbals: an online and in-person school: https://www.rootworkherbals.com/herbal-education

Excellent free foundational herbal medicine resources from Jim Macdonald: https://www.herbcraft.org

Introduction to herbal medicine book from Rosemary Gladstar: https://www.storey.com/books/rosemary-gladstars-medicinal-herbs/

Herbal first aid wound care from 7song: https://7song.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/Herbal-First-Aid-Wound-Care.pdf

Free online herb school with the late great Michael Moore: www.swsbm.com/school/

This is an herbal respiratory infection protocol. Good for the upcoming flu season: https://docs.google.com/document/d/12b09xsVmA0_6nDTjgqFtxZXnT8CTkClMKDyqPOi-jOk/edit

Youtube channel with educational herb and gardening videos from Joe Hollis at Mountain Gardens: https://www.youtube.com/user/mountaingardens/featured

Ideas for an herbal first aid kit. Make your own! https://learningherbs.com/remedies-recipes/herbal-travel-first-aid-kit/

Learn about Bidens, a weedy and abundant herb that works wonders on serious infections: https://radicalvitalism.wordpress.com/2016/02/16/bidens-as-an-herbal-antibiotic-a-case-study/

Indigenous perspective on relations with plants: Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer: https://milkweed.org/book/braiding-sweetgrass

How is our individual health tied to that of our communities, our society and all of life on Earth? Read about Radical Vitalism: https://radicalvitalism.wordpress.com/2016/08/19/radical-vitalism-by-janet-kent-and-dave-meesters/

Herbs for grounding in turbulent times: https://radicalvitalism.wordpress.com/?s=herbs+for+grounding

Herbs for when you are freaking out: https://radicalvitalism.wordpress.com/?s=emergency

Zines: Ease Your Mind: Herbs for Mental Health https://firestorm.coop/products/4003-ease-your-mind.html

Under Pressure: Herbs for Resilience https://firestorm.coop/products/12035-under-pressure.html

On the radical potential of herbalism: Using the elements as a map through the ever-changing and increasingly challenging territory, for individuals and movements: You are Nature: Working with the Elements for Change: https://radicalvitalism.wordpress.com/2020/02/01/you-are-nature-working-with-the-elements-for-change/

The host Margaret Killjoy can be found on twitter at https://www.twitter.com/magpiekilljoy and instagram at https://www.instagram.com/margaretkilljoy. You can support her on Patreon at https://www.patreon.com/margaretkilljoy